What sort of blog IS this?

Last seen in zenicurean‘s LJ….

The Blogalyser reveals…

Your blog/web page text has an overall readability index of 13.

This suggests that your writing style is conventional
(to communicate well you should aim for a figure between 10 and 20).Your blog has 17 sentences per entry, which suggests your general message is distinguished by verbosity
(writing for the web should be concise).

CHARACTER MATRIX

male malefemale female
self oneselfgroupworld world
past pastpresentfuture future

Your text shows characteristics which are 56% male and 44% female
(for more information see the Gender Genie).
Looking at pronoun indicators, you write mainly about yourself, then the world in general and finally your social circle. Also, your writing focuses primarily on the present, next the past and lastly the future.

Find out what your blogging style is like!


So, songdogmi, your LiveJournal reveals…

You are… 0% unique and 29% herdlike (partly because you, like everyone else, enjoy writing). When it comes to friends you are popular. In terms of the way you relate to people, you are keen to please. Your writing style (based on a recent public entry) is conventional.

Your overall weirdness is: 10

(The average level of weirdness is: 27.
You are weirder than 14% of other LJers.)

Find out what your weirdness level is!


Zero percent unique? And Weirdness is only 10??? I’m embarassed. I could keep on believing that the herd is following me, I suppose….


About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What sort of blog IS this?

  1. altivo says:

    *snort*

    I tried this. Scored one point lower on readability than you did, and 2% more male, whatever that is supposed to mean. Altogether, it seems rather lame or at least badly explained.

    So I went to the link for their “Gender Genie” and pasted in a recent short story I wrote. Hah!

    While they think my LJ style is “58% male” they think my fiction is “written by a female.” They go on to give a list of words that they consider to be “male” and “female” which is about the stupidest thing I’ve ever seen. What makes “above” and “below” masculine while “when” and “where” are feminine? Evidently they just did a word frequency analysis on a bunch of writing and assumed it meant something, Tried again with a chapter from The Argosiad and it scored me with even a higher female rating. ;p

    I conclude that writing reveals nothing about the gender of the writer unless it is just that women are better writers than men.

    • songdogmi says:

      I didn’t give too much thought to the first meme, but it’s the one that is both in need of explanation and lacking it. The other one, I can figure out that it’s using the Interests list on our profiles. So I’ll be copying some of your interests so I can make myself look more unique. 🙂

      The gender thing, it would be easy to assert it’s based on stereotype more than anything. I probably shouldn’t say that, since I know there’s a whole branch of study into classifying writing. But maybe this quiz doesn’t really make use of the good tools for it, so it comes up with results like yours. Or … maybe you need to give your horse characters rifles and stock cars?

      • altivo says:

        Oh, I’m not bothered that an analysis developed in Israel thinks I’m a “female writer.” They do show you what words they base it on, and they are all prepositions, pronouns, and articles. No nouns or verbs. That implies that adding rifles, pickup trucks, and buckets of dripping testosterone would make no difference. ;p

      • songdogmi says:

        No nouns and verbs? Especially verbs? So no matter how many times you used “penetrate,” that wouldn’t skew things? But if you left out articles that would make it more masculine? (No it wouldn’t — it would just make it more Eastern European, maybe…)

      • altivo says:

        Perhaps in Israel, men don’t use indefinite articles, but women do? I dunno. It makes no sense that I can see. I think it was probably based on statistical analysis of writing by known male and female authors, but the results they got really were meaningless. Or else they thought James Tiptree and George Eliot were men.

Leave a Reply

