Didn’t Barenaked Ladies write a song about this?

It’s not really a meme, yet. I just saw it in a couple of LJs I read, and I like pondering this sort of question:

if $100K landed in your lap (lottery) what would you do with it? I’m assuming it’s $100k after taxes (otherwise it’s a lot less fun). A hundred G’s is not enough to retire on, and it wouldn’t make me say “I will buy a hotel! In downtown Detroit! And use the profits to rebuild a neighborhood!” (That amount is $40 million, according to my calculations.)

No, I would … pay off debt. I know, you all just yawned. Everything but the mortgage (car, credit card, home improvement loans), and then a huge portion of the mortgage. A hundred grand would handle the whole mortgage, but then I wouldn’t be able to do anything else. I would be happy to get to where I could pay it off in a few years instead of (gulp) 25. I’d also do some house repairs that are needed, with the luxury of calling a really good contractor and then sitting back and watching the magic happen.

But I’d need some fun stuff. Like a Gibson J-200 guitar. And maybe a pair of big stompy boots that fit. And a real video camera, so I could do more interesting YouTube things.

What would you do?

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Didn’t Barenaked Ladies write a song about this?

  1. What would I do with a hundred grand?

    Hmm….

    Well I’d probably take 90 G’s and spend it on fursuits, sex toys, booze and drugs. Then throw a three week long party that my liver would probably never recover from.

    …and I’d just blow the rest.

  2. 1. Fix my car and/or buy another one.

    2. Laptop.

    3. Travel.

    4. Un-debt.

    5. Save the rest and/or donate a bunch to a charity(ies)

  3. hellmutt says:

    Hand over to a financial investy person while I try to figure out something I want that’s buyable. 🙂 And retain the option to give some or all of the interest to charity.

    (Oh, and this house would be heaving with huge grey hairy mongrel dogs.)

  4. mystic506 says:

    I’m not far behind you

    Pay off student loan (also not wanting to be paying for 25 years). Pay off car and misc. loans. Set aside money to survive the summer when times are tight and go on one honken of a vacation to Peru. That would be my party.

Leave a Reply

