What time is it? It’s Open Mic Time!

I’m wearing a watch today, which I rarely do, and that can only mean that I’m hosting an open mic tonight. The performers get three songs or fifteen minutes, whichever comes first, and the watch is for those whose act cannot be measured by number of songs. No, I don’t get a hook to use when they go too far. The venue does let me use the power switch on the sound system, though.

I had two watches I liked, both of them rugged in an outdoorsy way, but I misplaced them somehow years ago. I look for them occasionally but so far I’ve been unsuccessful, and I have little hope of locating them now. So I’m wearing the second watch I ever owned, from way back in high school days. It works OK but has a cracked crystal and an inflexible metal band, which means it’s either slipping down my wrist or annoyingly tight.

I might be entitled to a new watch, I suppose. It’s just hard to justify since I hardly ever wear them and the time is everwhere, on walls and computer screens and cell phone displays. A watch would make a nice gift, I suppose, if it was something closely approximating my birthday, and if I wasn’t going to be so particular about what I want. I won’t go into details, because I’m not really fishing for a gift.

All of which is just a non-musical way of saying I’ll be hosting at AJ’s Music Cafe in Ferndale tonight, in place of Mr. jjfmi who is finishing up his stint with the Witness Protection Program*. Signup starts in about 15 minutes. I’ll play a few songs first, just so no one has to jump onto a cold stage, and then introduce the performers. And time them, of course.

____

*Not.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What time is it? It’s Open Mic Time!

  1. vaneramos says:

    My relationship to watches has been about the same as yours. I’ve had a number of watches over the years, but usually they didn’t last long before the straps broke, and I didn’t replace them. I do need a watch for the Breeding Bird Survey, which I run one morning a year. Ideally it should have a stop function, the better to time three-minute periods. So in June I went and bought a sports watch for the first time ever. It’s convenient to have around for other reasons (the church sanctuaries where we work on organs never have clocks), so I’ve been wearing it steadily. This time of year I hate how they collect sweat and start to smell like bad skin.

    • songdogmi says:

      Watches have a few negative points in the summer, I agree. Does yours have a leather band? I figure that might be best, but I could see how there’d be “unfashionable” odors from that. I remember this watch’s band used to give me a little sore on my wrist in hot weather.

  2. Anonymous says:

    jackpearson music

    Pretty nice site, wants to see much more on it! 🙂

  3. hellmutt says:

    I’m one of those people who still think digital watches are a neat idea. I wear mine until the bands wear out and can’t be replaced, or the buttons stop responding even with a fresh battery. 😉 My current wristclock is metal and solar-charged, and corrects itself by radio. In functionality terms it’s a thing of beauty, completely maintenance-free, and I wouldn’t be without it because I panic at the thought of not having the time accurate to 1/10th of a second easily accessible on my left hand.

    Metal straps can be a problem in very hot weather, though.

Leave a Reply

