It ain’t Spielberg, but then again it ain’t Ed Wood either

I’ve been playing around with my YouTube page—added info about my music, changed the color scheme … and uploaded my very first video. It was shot at AJ’s Cafe in Ferndale on an open mic Tuesday in June, and I finally got done fighting with Windows Movie Maker, er, editing it tonight. It has a couple of flaws, which I probably shouldn’t admit, but I’m honest to a fault, I guess. Still, it’s the best video I’ve done, and yes I’ve done a couple of others that fall into the category of “trial runs.” Thanks to jjfmi for his help with shooting and recording it.

(No, I’m not embedding it here. Follow the link above to go see it. If you dare….)

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It ain’t Spielberg, but then again it ain’t Ed Wood either

  1. hellmutt says:

    I love it! Sounds like you’ve got good sound quality, too. What camera was it? (curious, not that I know anything about ’em, mind)

    Also, this is cute.

    • songdogmi says:

      D’awww cute sleepy coyote…

      Thanks! The camera is a Canon Powershot A620, which is mostly a still camera but does have a video function that’s not bad (especially if you feed it a big memory card). The sound isn’t so good, though, because it has only a tiny little microphone on top. Fortunately, you’re not hearing that audio. The night I shot the video, I also gave a blank CD, and he recorded my set off the sound board onto his laptop. Last night, I finally worked out how to replace the cruddy audio from the video with the audio from the CD.

      I’m leaving out the long fight with Windows Movie Maker for the sake of brevity.

Leave a Reply

