I clicked on an ad, and lived!

Sinfest had a banner ad on today’s comic page that I actually clicked on. There’s generally about three or four ads or sponsored links that I click on a year, at most. That’s probably average, innit? High end of average? Nice to see the entire future of the advertising business rests on our shoulders.

Anyway the ad was for a book titled Installing Linux on a Dead Badger, by Lucy A. Snyder. I know nothing about the book but with a title like that, it’s worth a shot. “This collection of thirteen short stories, articles and essays from Lucy A. Snyder will appeal to any fan of zombies, aliens or installation manuals,” one review says. I think that covers just about everyone I know.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I clicked on an ad, and lived!

  1. las says:

    Hi! Thanks for the mention … I hope you enjoy the book 🙂

    (I don’t know if you’re familiar with the title story, but you can read it over at Strange Horizons).

    • songdogmi says:

      Very interesting… I’m not much experienced with Linux, and I don’t have regular access to badgers of any state of existance. might, as he lives on a farm near Wisconsin. My neighborhood has opossums, but possum architecture is so old that I’m doubtful 21st century software will run on them (or 20th century, or 10th for that matter). There are also stray cats; some of them are almost the size of badgers… I wonder if the software would work on them….

      Note to other readers: Yes, please do visit the link at Strange Horizons and be entertained, then check out your favorite bookseller (a link to one possibility is up in the main post).

Leave a Reply

