Scenes from a vacation

A few photos from the last half of my vacation:

About five miles north of Manistique on route 94, I pulled over when I saw two sandhill cranes (Grus canadensis) in a field. I tried my best but I really miss my nice long telephoto on my nice 35mm SLR film camera. This is the only photo where both cranes had their heads up at the same time:
16 July 2008

Here’s where home was during the festival. My little green backpacker tent, which got so badly beaten up by the winds at Bliss, is in the back. (Still haven’t set up and waterproofed the new tent; now I have 50 weeks to do that, I guess.)
19 July 2008

The Hiawatha main stage, pretty early in the day I think, even before the open mic started. Both the Saturday and Sunday open mics were completely filled up by the time I went looking for the sign-up list on Friday night.
19 July 2008

Finally, on the way out of town on Monday, I had my traditional drive down Lakeshore Drive. This is actually one of the best photos of the big Marquette Harbor Lighthouse that I’ve actually gotten, which in a way is kind of pathetic as I’ve only had almost three decades to do better, but hey.
21 July 2008

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Scenes from a vacation

  1. jjfmi says:

    At least your tent lived!

    Glad you had a good time at Hiawatha…. and great shots on the way back. One of these days, I’ll get around to posting some from Bliss…

    • songdogmi says:

      I know… your poor tent. (Note to other readers: It looked like the blue canopy tent in pic #2, only it was green and then twisted out of shape by the wind at Bliss.) One of us should’ve taken up metal fabrication as a hobby, so we could’ve fixed the bent parts.

      I have the full-sized versions of you on stage at Bliss. I’ll get them to you this week (unedited, so you can do as you wish to them… I don’t think I’ll get any editing time before Tuesday).

Leave a Reply

