Our Man in Manistique encounters local wildlife


After a leisurely start to my day (see above), I went exploring. First stop was downtown Manistique, which is about as spread-out a small town as any I’ve seen in Michigan. Near the geographical center of town is a water tower that’s been there for decades.

Toward the west I drove to the bayside town of Nahma (the bay being Big Bay de Noc), where they have another tall cylindrical building that I couldn’t get close to because of private property, but I don’t know what it is anyway except that it isn’t a lighthouse. And then I headed east to drive around the area near Seney National Wildlife Refuge, just to see places I don’t usually see when I’m driving through. Didn’t stop in the refuge itself because it was getting late in the day, but I did drive along the southernn border of it on a narrow winding gravel and sand road. I likes those, I does. At one point I came to a one-lane bridge over a creek, but this bridge had a keeper

The tortoise took one more step into the middle of the road and became implacable, even when I employed the soul-catching machine directly upon its wizened visage:

I did manage to drive around it without either hitting it or the side of the bridge, fortunately for both of us, and made it back to the motel for a nap. There was some rain, but not much. I closed the day with a lakeshore walk to see the lighthouse again. I’ll spare you more photos of that.

Today, the plan includes heading up to Marquette to see the Ott Lake Rambler and his wife and the little ramblers, and start getting ready for Hiawatha.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Our Man in Manistique encounters local wildlife

  1. ferndalealex says:

    Cool pictures

    The tortoise looks positivly primeval to me.

    • songdogmi says:

      Re: Cool pictures

      It does, doesn’t it?

      I’m not even really sure whether it’s a tortoise or a turtle. I spent all my nature time studying birds instead of amphibians. But with the photos, I should be able to figure it out once I get home and have more references to consult.

  2. hellmutt says:

    It’s a beautiful little tortie! I like the tower, too. Nice shots. (Almost typed “Nice shorts”. That too.)

    • songdogmi says:

      I thought you might find the little bugger almost cuddly. 🙂 I ruled out picking it up, out of respect for its choices in life. It seemed to turn out OK — his head was pretty much retracted when I went by, which gave me a couple of additional inches to spare. 🙂

Leave a Reply

