Quote of the day

Message to Hillary Clinton, perhaps?

“Women have been in everything else—why not in politics? There’s no reason why a woman shouldn’t be in the White House as president, if she wants to be. But she’ll be sorry when she gets there.”

—Harry S. Truman quoted in McCall’s magazine, September 1962; re-quoted in A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the White House, compiled by Charles Osgood (published 2008).

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Quote of the day

  1. ferndalealex says:

    Sounds just a few steps aways from: “On no account should anyone be allowed to be President who wants the job.” [paraphrasing somebody…]

    • songdogmi says:

      That could’ve been a lot of people from George Washington on down. Too bad it’s not any contender for president from the last couple of decades. I think many of them have been tainted by wanting the job so much, winners and losers alike.

  2. I have no problem with a women in office, just not that one.
    No more dynasties.

    • songdogmi says:

      Yes. No more Bushes, no more Clintons.

      Although I’m having a hard time coming up with a woman I could support. Every one I think of either doesn’t have quite enough prominence (like Christine Gregoire, Washington’s governor… give her a couple of years, maybe?) or are Republicans (Condoleezza Rice).

Leave a Reply

