Ongoing Adventures in Plumbing

The plumber called just before 10 and said his assistant wasn’t coming in till the afternoon, so my plumbing repairs won’t happen until this afternoon. The assistant is an important part of the equation, as the plumber is about my size and had a terrible time getting into and out of the crawlspace yesterday. The assistant is purportely “skinnier,” according to the plumber.

So, I am working at home again today. Unfortunately, unlike the idyllic dsys earlier this week, it is completely sunny and warm and my neighbors are taking that as a signal to start doing their yardwork. There are so many power tools in use today it’s, well, cacophonous, that’s the best word. I even have my window closed. Damned suburbanites. Of course, the one yard that I would like to have taken care of, the one around the abandoned house next door, still lies untouched.

In an attempt to divert my attention from leaf-blowers and other implements of lawn torture, I’m listening to a compilation Dave made for me of classical music that’s relatively good for background music. He’s made nine discs so far, and I’ve listened to three of them now, and they’re exposing me to new-to-me music while filling space in my head that would only distract me. At the moment, I’m enjoying the melodies (yes!) of Stravinsky’s Pulcinella Suite. Coming up next, Rodrigo’s Concierto de Aranjuez, probably the most well-known classical guitar concerto.

When the CD is done, I’ll be ready for lunch, and maybe even have some more books typeset. If a plumber happens to be here, that would be nice too.

Edited to add (6/23/08): The plumbers didn’t arrive until 5:30. I was getting a bit antsy by then. It took a iittle less than an hour to get it all done. The guy who went under the house was none too happy about it; said he’d gotten stuck in a crawlspace in the winter once, due to having to wear a bulky coverall in a small space. In gratitude I gave them an extra six-pack of Labatt’s Blue along with the payment. Then I celebrated by turning on all the water at once. (Well, not quite, but I did have to get air out of the pipes.)

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

