What are those flaming drinks called again?

This is why I was missed my dental appointment yesterday:
Neon light causes fire that destroys Center Line store (Detroit Free Press, June 11, 2008).
It was a liquor store; the neon sign started sparking and apparently triggered the fire. Van Dyke Ave., which is eight lanes across at that point, was closed for over six hours. The smoke was impressive. By the time I was in the area (an hour after it started), you could see smoke from the I-696 freeway from a mile away. I couldn’t even see down Van Dyke because the smoke was so thick. My mom lives about two miles south, so I called her to tell her about it because I was concerned about the smoke.

Ooh, the really local paper has a story online already—with a photo: Center Line liquor store catches fire (C&G News/Warren Weekly, online June 10, 2008, probably in print June 18, 2008).

(Well, ok, it’s only part of why I missed my appointment. I apparently need a personal assistant, one who will tell me when my appointments are an hour earlier than I think they are. But had I been on time, I would’ve seen the beginning of the actual fire, so I might still have missed the appointment.)

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What are those flaming drinks called again?

  1. That’s what was going on. I was wondering.

    • songdogmi says:

      I would’ve stayed and gawked at it, but I thought I still had a chance to get to the dentist. It was pretty ominous with all the dark-brown and black smoke.

  2. jjfmi says:

    You have to watch out for those flaming neon signs. Next thing you know, someone will name a band after one!

    (You can explain this one to your loyal readers.) 🙂

Leave a Reply

