Bob who?

First, I want to say I appreciated the comments to my previous post. There were more good ideas in there worth reading (and nothing to take issue with, which is why I haven’t commented on those comments).

Today’s task at work is typesetting a large-print edition of A Freewheelin’ Time: A Memoir of Greenwich Village in the Sixties, by Suze Rotolo, who was an early friend of Bob Dylan when the Greenwich Village (New York City) folk scene was hottest. I kind of volunteered to take this one, for some reason. *whistles* There are lots of photos and ilustrations of the people and places of the day. It’s one of those books I have to keep myself from reading, because I’m just supposed to typeset it and reading it will slow me down. But every now and then I sneak a peak, especially when a name pops up that I know (e.g., Dave Van Ronk, Eric Weissberg).

I woke up this morning wishing I could stay home and spend the day working on music. I guess working on a book by a girlfriend of a famous musician is close.

In somewhat of a coincidence, the CD in my car on the way to work was Richard Shindell’s South of Delia, and it felt like the kind of morning to loop Bob Dylan’s “Señor (Takes of Yankee Power)” several times.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

