Weekend report, please pass the tissues

First, it’s worth noting that during the latter part of last week, I felt as if I was on the verge of coming down with a cold or something. This will explain things, somewhat.

Saturday, I was busily pulling weeds in my front yard, destroying botany on a small scale, when my neighbor offered to bring his chain saw over to cut down some trees that were growing along my back yard fence, where they shouldn’t have. Last year these trees were knocking my privacy fence over through their exuberance. So we destroyed botany on a larger scale and chopped them down. And later I mowed grass.*

Then on Sunday, the Mother’s Day celebration took place at my house. We made pizzas from scratch, which is a lot of fun. There were four cigarette smokers in my house. It was raining, so they couldn’t go outside.

So it should be no surprise that at around 7:00 p.m., my sinuses completely gave up and started outputting as if they were the Niagara River heading into Lake Ontario. Five hours later, they achieved something I thought would not be possible: A sinus headache while the sinuses were still draining.

I think sinuses are proof that Intelligent Design is a hoax. Yes, it can be argued there was some contributory negligence in my case, between the tree dust and the smoke and all. But still.

So if anyone’s looking for me at an open mic night tomorrow, um, sorry. *achoo!snort!*

*Sometimes I wonder why I don’t move into an asphalt parking lot.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weekend report, please pass the tissues

  1. stitchjock says:

    Povero. Sinuses sometimes are Teh Suck.

    I trust, however, that this temporary malady will not impact your participation in this weekend’s festivities???

    • songdogmi says:

      I should be at least almost-fine by the weekend, judging from the way this sort of thing goes for me, so I’ll be there. (It’s also not catching, so I’ll be no more a danger to everyone else than usual.)

Leave a Reply

