Covers vs Originals PLUS programming alert

Today’s fun link of the day (as if I do this every day, or even every week) is Cover vs. Original, http://www.cover-vs-original.com/. It’s a website where two versions of a song are posted and users vote for which one is better, the original or the remake. Guaranteed to start good-natured arguments among music fans everywhere, huh?

This came up because Dave heard “Give a Little Bit” on the radio yesterday, but it didn’t sound like Supertramp. It was the Goo Goo Dolls’ cover, I replied. But then I was curious as to why the Goos covered it — was it for a movie? The first non-YouTube link in Google was to Cover vs. Original, where I not only learned that the Goos version was just a live version from a concert, but that the voters there thought Supertramp did it better. (They’re right.)

So now I’ve been checking out other songs. I don’t know how old the site is, but there are a few gaps. They’ll let users post new pairings, though. So perhaps someday we’ll get the truth of who did “Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds” better, the Beatles or Elton John. (I’d expect that to come out 50/50, honestly.)

Oh Oh Oh—Almost forgot: Gordon Lightfoot is going to be on CBC’s The Hour with George Stroumboulopoulos tonight. There will be a video clip on The Hour’s website soon after. Fans may squee at will.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

