Holy Oil Barrel, Batman

Tonight, for the first time, I put more than $50 worth of gas in my gas tank.

I normally gas my four-door sedan up once every eight days on average. That doesn’t count trips to Louisville or up north for music festivals.

Suddenly I’m rather panic-stricken over the whole thing. I’m sure I’ll come up with a plan to deal with this, financially, eventually. But at the moment, it looks rather frightening, especially when I consider that gas will only keep going up. I mean, I only paid $3.64 per gallon tonight, which is really cheap compared to what everyone else pays.

I’m not soliciting solutions. Just, y’know, maybe a group hug or something.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Holy Oil Barrel, Batman

  1. ferndalealex says:

    I’m making a tankful (10 gallon tank) last a week. Putting 31.50 in this weekend made me feel nostalgic for the outrage I felt the first time I put in $15.

    [sigh]

    • songdogmi says:

      I know what you mean. Somehow those days seem like fond memories. And they weren’t that long ago, either, were they?

      I shook my head when I was regularly putting $40 into the tank, but it just didn’t seem as big as when I saw $50 on the gas pump. Fifty dollars still seems like a huge amount to spend on one thing to me. But then, my dad used to complain about milk that cost over a dollar a gallon. *shrug*

      • Anonymous says:

        Up here (MQT) we’ve been filling our tanks between $60-80 for some time now.

      • songdogmi says:

        Ouch!

        We’re going to have to try standing on street corners busking for gas money.

      • Anonymous says:

        Geez, we’re on the same wavelength. Just yesterday I was reading posts over at the Fiddle Hangout on busking — how, when, where, etc. — and wondering what it would be like.

        Today I gotta get my Hiawatha campsite request postmarked (must be on May 1). I promised Julie I won’t be out of my mind at the festival this year.

      • songdogmi says:

        I always wanted to try busking. Never had the courage to do it, though. It’s a big deal in some places — a lot of cities in Canada have busker festivals.

        Have you heard the story about this fiddler in a Washington DC Metro station busking… who turned out to be Joshua Bell? Here’s the story: http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2007/04/04/AR2007040401721.html

      • Anonymous says:

        Busking

        That story won a Pulitzer a couple of weeks ago. Thought that might be worth mentioning!

        Anono Primero

      • songdogmi says:

        P.S.

        Good luck with the Hiawatha campsite request. I’m hoping to come back up this year — in fact, I think I can do both Bliss and Hiawatha with a few days’ journey in between.

      • Anonymous says:

        Re: P.S.

        Listen, that would be fantastic. Hell, I think it is great that you’re even considering it again, particularly in light of my selfish and reckless behavior last year.

      • songdogmi says:

        Re: P.S.

        I must’ve missed the video of that. Reckless fiddling? They don’t give 6-point tickets for that, do they?

Leave a Reply

