Sometimes I shake myself ‘n wonder why it even bothers me

So I’m sitting here, minding my own business playing mandolin (badly, but then I hadn’t picked it up in months), when I was interrupted by the phone ringing in a different key. I picked it up; it was an automated message from some guy saying this is a ten-second survey, and then asking “Are you Catholic or Protestant?”

Wow. Two hundred and thirty-two years into this republic, and people still don’t get that there are more choices to religion than “A” and “a slightly different version of A.” I simply hung up.

***

I’m going to see jjfmi play at Trixie’s Coffee in Roseville tonight. He’s sharing the stage with another singer/songwriter, John Dobat. I know I won’t hear anything that I want to hang up on there.

***

I’m rather gratified by the response to my last LJ post. I just haven’t figured out where to jump back into the conversation I started. (Lame, yes. *shrug*) I may reply to comments, or I may write a new post, I haven’t decided yet.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sometimes I shake myself ‘n wonder why it even bothers me

  1. chipuni says:

    I picked it up; it was an automated message from some guy saying this is a ten-second survey, and then asking “Are you Catholic or Protestant?

    Silly! The question wasn’t: Which are you, Catholic or Protestant?

    It was a yes or no question!

Leave a Reply

