Sudden Gig — Suddenly NOT

I’ll be filling in for jjfmi as host of the Tuesday Open Mic at AJ’s Cafe tonight. I’ll sing from 7:45 till about 8, and then emcee and handle the sound till it ends around 10 or so. Sign up for the list in person or by phone starting at 6:30.

OK, I know most readers aren’t in metro Detroit, but just in case you’re on a plane and stuck for a few hours in Detroit, here’s something to do.

Edit 3:20 p.m. March 18: John just called again … said he’d just spoken with AJ, who revealed that tonight’s plans included no open mic, but a movie presentation and then closing up early. So… I won’t be at AJ’s singing tonight, and neither will you, unless you want to be a nuisance. See, they just held a 50-hour marathon of singing “Danny Boy.” I think AJ is a little tired. (Just do a Web search for “danny boy marathon” and see how much coverage it got. I think AJ has a right to be a little tired.)

I’ll probably go to Trixie’s Coffee to sing at THEIR open mic, instead.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

