Waiting for the window people

I’m getting new windows and doors today. Well, ok, my house is. And to celebrate, my house is in total disarray. Everything that was under or next to a window had to be moved, and all the window treatments (blinds and valences, mostly) had to be taken down. It has been No Fun At All. The place is an utter shambles. Preparing for the windows has been a gentle reminder of how much stuff, junk, and clutter I have. What’s worse is, all that stuff has to go back someplace after this is all done. I’ve considered just walking away from this house with only my guitars and computer, but it’ll have new windows and be toasty warm so I guess I’ll figure out a way to deal with the mess.

The crew is supposed to be here between 9 and 11 a.m. I guess there will be enough guys (and/or gals, maybe) to get it all done quickly. There’s only seven windows and two doors, so it seems do-able.

And it’s snowing, too. This oughta be … cold. Excuse me while I put on my hoodie and big wool socks.

Edited 10:22 a.m.: No doors today. They just called and said that one door arrived damaged, and in fixing that damage something else went out of whack. (The door arrives to my house already in the frame; they just pop the whole thing in without having to mess with hinges and such. At least that’s what I guess, having never seen a door installed before.) They could install the other door, but why make two trips? So the new date for doors is March 11.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

