Speaking of disarray

The windows are in; the installers are just working on exterior moulding and trim. But I’ve suffered a bit of a setback in my quest for an untroubled life. It turns out that the new windows are a bit thicker than the old ones — I mean the whole assembly of inside window, outside storm window and screen — and as a result, they were installed such that the inside edge is a lot closer to the plane of the inside walls than before. With the old windows, I mostly had blinds (either horizontal or vertical) installed inside the window frame. Now I won’t be able to do that, and will have to replace just about every one.

I didn’t expect this, so now I get to spend money on new window treatments that until today I didn’t need. And worse, I have to spend the time shopping and installing whatever I buy. This, on top of having to put all my boxes o’ stuff and furniture back where it belongs.

Maybe I’ll just nail bedsheets and tablecloths over the windows. *sigh*

The new windows are very nice, though, and they do seem more energy-efficient.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Speaking of disarray

  1. altivo says:

    If you’re looking for energy efficiency, I think you will find that insulated drapes or curtains are much more effective than blinds. If you’re after adjustable light levels during the daytime, though, blinds can’t be beat. That’s why my favorite arrangement is blinds fitted to the window and then drapes that cover the blinds when desired.

    • songdogmi says:

      I think I’m more interested in controlling light levels, mostly because the windows I bought are (supposed to be) so much more energy efficient than the old ones, which were original to the house and thus 40 years old. My big concerns are cost (since I didn’t budget for this) and ease of installation (since I have to install blinds differently from how the old ones were). I just figure I have to do research, which means lots of shopping. I’m not really looking forward to that, since I’m basically buying something I already had and not anything fun.

Leave a Reply

