The BBC looks at Detroit

Detroit ‘has most repossessions’
We’re number one! We’re number one! Er… not that the BBC was supposed to tell the whole world….

I just discovered that the BBC World Service radio programme “World Have Your Say” was in the greater Detroit area about fifteen months ago. Who knew? Well, maybe people who listen to WDET knew because the BBC folks spent a lot of time working with the station while here. On the way to Detroit, they went through Washington, DC and Cleveland — and Toledo, where one of their vehicles broke down unfortunately. Anyway, the tale of their sojourn starts at http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/worldhaveyoursay/2006/11/tally-ho_now_off_we_go_to_detroit.html (November 8, 2006) and runs through about six or seven blog posts through November 10. I think the show is mostly devoted to world news, and I haven’t read through the blog to see what came up about Detroit yet, but I’m looking forward to reading it.

An article titled Detroit’s desperate struggle, which is mostly about the hard economic times Detroit has fallen on, starts off with quotes from Jody Raffoul, a singer/songwriter and musician from here who’s building a national, or maybe now international, reputation. I introduced him one night at an open mic I hosted, years ago, y’know. Yeah, that and a dollar will buy me one of those new 8-ounce cups of coffee at Starbucks. I probably shouldn’t even have mentioned it. I’ll just go off in the corner and be all obscure now.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The BBC looks at Detroit

  1. ferndalealex says:

    Thanks BBC…

    Detroit’s exposure on Sunday Morning (CBS) was better: Packzi Day.

    • songdogmi says:

      Paczek, paczka, paczkie, paczki

      I’m still kind of bitter that New Orleans gets a huge party, and we just get jelly donuts.

      Um, ok, I really don’t like huge crowds of people. Still….

      I got the subject from Dave. I don’t know enough Polish to come up with it myself.

Leave a Reply

