I have always been… something something.

Here’s a photo I just put in my DeviantArt gallery. It garnered a ton of attention there in the first few minutes it was available, way more than any of my other photos has. Maybe I just hit the right time of day for posting there, or maybe it was the oh-so-Goth title. Thing is, I’ve been fighting a running battle with the combination of my scanner, monitor, and photo software for a few weeks now—nothing I’ve worked on has worked all that well, to my eyes. Prints come out blurrier than the original, or the color’s off, or both. Clearly I’m running up against the limits of my knowledge of digital image processing. Or, maybe not. I have no idea. But anyway… here’s the print, in an easy all-in-LJ format.

I have always been lonely...
I have always been lonely…
An abandoned farm house in northern North Dakota. Photo taken in August 1995.

Note to the Ott Lake Rambler: This was taken a couple of days after I left Keith’s camp visiting you and the (somewhat smaller then) family, just after you got back to Marquette.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I have always been… something something.

  1. Anonymous says:

    Then that means the photo was taken in August 1997, not 1995!

    Ott Lake Rambler

    • songdogmi says:

      Really?
      Then that means the Swainson’s hawk photo taken a couple of days later is mis-dated too…
      I’m losing track of time. I’m falling into a spinning vortex…..

      • Anonymous says:

        Also, come to think of it, you’ve dated our Snow is Falling on the Mountain song as October 1980, and I transferred that date to my own CD. But I’m quite sure we didn’t write that within one month of being on campus at NMU. Indeed, I’m thinking it was written some time in 1981.

      • songdogmi says:

        Somewhere in the overturned warehouse that is my home, I might have the original manuscript of “Snow is Falling On the Mountain,” or something really close. (There are some things I throw away, honest. Not enough of them, though.) But that’s eighteen miles away at the moment. Somewhat closer, meaning in my car, is my original song book, and the date on the lyric sheet for “Snow” is September 1, 1980. (“Chinook” would be dated October 1, 1980.) But that copy is only between five and ten years old, and I could’ve been deluded that long. The real proof would be the manuscript, if I can find it.

        Didn’t you and Missus Rambler (and little Ramblers 1 & 2) spend some time on vacation at Keith’s camp in summer of 1995? That sounds familiar now, unless I’m making it up.

      • Anonymous says:

        Yes, we most likely did spend some time at camp in 1995, and so that could’ve been the date of your picture, too, which was two years before we moved permanently to the U.P. But, yes, 1995 is possible.

        And right — Chinook, Oct 1980, Snow Sept 1980. But then that means you and I wrote Snow within about two to three weeks of jamming together! That’s possible, and if it really happened so soon, well, my goodness, I’m more impressed with our songwriting talents than ever, and by golly we missed the boat!

Leave a Reply

