Not just another long-haired guy with a guitar….

Two classical music clubs established in Helsinki
Classical music in small venues like cafes and coffee houses—I would love it if this could happen here. If I had a string quartet, I would approach either Trixie’s or AJ’s to see if they’d book us. I like singer/songwriters and all, but … the first gig at the Klasariklubi included Vivaldi’s The Four Seasons by a string quintet of violin, viola, cello, bass, and guitar. How cool is that?

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Not just another long-haired guy with a guitar….

  1. Anonymous says:

    Let’s hear it for Helsinki! Suomi Kuutsu!

    Perhaps the Finns are concerned about property rights violations… going classical would be one way to avoid the whole ASCAP-type issue of paying fees/royalties for live performances, right? Now all what we need here is a larger demand for classical music among the cafe/coffee house crowd.

    At any rate, here or there, now or then, live or Memorex, I’d love to finally hear your fabled mandolin-with-bass-drum rendition of Ives’ Putnam’s Camp, from Three Places in New England.

    Ott Lake Rambler

    • songdogmi says:

      Finland, I am convinced, is one of the coolest countries in the world today.

      I hadn’t thought about the property rights thing, but yes, anything from the 19th century back would be free to play, I think. European laws may differ in ways I don’t know.

      I’ll get to the Ives’ piece after I finish my transcription of Mahler’s Das Lied von der Erde for untrained tenor and guitar. I’ve been threatening that one for years.

Leave a Reply

