Does he ever write about anything but weather?

When I went to bed, the expectation was that there would be a thick blanket of snow over all of lower Michigan, so thick that the National Weather Service was jumping up and down shouting HEAVY SNOW WARNING!!!!1!1! into every megaphone they could find.

As of this morning, only about 3 inches of snow has fallen. And now the NWS has canceled the heavy snow warning for metro Detroit, eight hours early. From what I could gather, the storm tracked a little further west than they expected, and that allowed a lot of dry air to filter in over the metro area. So aside from scattered snow showers this afternoon, we’re done. It’s almost anti-climactic (or anti-climatic, take your pick).

But a lot of schools are closed, which means a lot of parents are home, which means I got a great parking spot at work today.

I could’ve worked at home, but I’m planning to go to a concert in Livonia tonight, so I’d be going out anyway. It’s a selection of members of the local group Songwriters Anonymous, and they’re playing at Trinity House this evening at 8. One of the performers will be jjfmi; there’ll be ten in all, plus emcee Annie Capps. I’m looking forward to a night of good original tunage.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Does he ever write about anything but weather?

  1. ferndalealex says:

    Computer models…gotta love ’em. Right?

    My co-sorked mentioned yesterday that he wanted a job like weather forecasters…one where you could be wrong 80% of the time & still have a job.

    • songdogmi says:

      Apparently the computer models never saw the high pressure system that kept the dry air here or close enough to hear to screw up the progress of the storm system. Forecasters never mentioned it; they just kept saying “we’ll either have a lot of snow or a little less snow with some sleet.”

      Weather forecasting is, apparently, neither art nor science.

      • Anonymous says:

        Nobody hates the anti-climatic more than me. Severe thunderstorm warnings, tornado warnings, blizzard warnings. Stop warning us. JUST DO IT OR SHUT UP!!!

      • songdogmi says:

        Yeah, YEAH! I mean, I want to know if it’s going to snow six inches. But they don’t need to send the news crews to hype it up. Six inches in Detroit (and Chicago, and points north) is just an inconvenience, it’s not Hurricane Katrina reborn. What will they be able to say when Mount Ranier blows, or a hurricane actually hits Manhattan? There’ll be no superlatives left.

  2. altivo says:

    I remember Detroit. It almost never snows much there. I was soooo disappointed through my childhood by the great shortage of white stuff. I don’t necessarily mean that it didn’t close the schools, but that there was never enough even to make a snowpony (or even a snow hamster.)

    We used to go to my grandmother’s house out in Oakland County and she’d have so much snow compared to us. Then I moved to Lansing and found out what real snow can be like. ;p

    Even more as you get closer to Lake Michigan. Detroit’s a desert compared to Benton Harbor or PawPaw. (Or even Chicago, which got a foot last night while we only got six inches here in McHenry County.)

    • songdogmi says:

      Detroit is unfavorably situated for lake effect snows, which is how western Michigan gets a lot of its snow.

      When I came home from college (in Marquette, in the Upper Peninsula, average snowfall in town of 80+ inches, more inland), after four winters of routinely huge snowfalls, I was really disappointed with winters in Detroit. Especially as we’ve gone through quite a few winters with below-normal snowfalls.

Leave a Reply

