Weather, Food-maybe, French & Saunders (a potpourri)

OK, this weather is just plain wacky. I checked the National Weather Service’s home page, and it’s particularly colorful with all the states colored in with weather watches, warnings, and statements. At the moment, two states, Missouri and Illinois, have both a tornado watch and a blizzard warning in effect. As my friend Leslie would say, “buh-zarrre.” I think I could explain why, but it would be pretty geeky and my lunch break is only so long. At the moment, the temperature is in the mid-40s here (upper single digits in C degrees), but in twelve hours it’ll be in the upper teens, so they say.

An hour ago, I smelled what I thought was deviled ham. I don’t know who had it, if anyone, but it smelled good. Yeah, I know, it might not actually be food, but… well, I guess I was hungry. It turned out that the café here had baked ham for lunch (with green beans—a veggie!), so I had that. That keeps me from running to the store for a can of deviled ham.

Speaking of questionable meat, one can now buy Spam in single-serving, vacuum-sealed foil pouches. Why it became necessary to make Spam even easier to consume, I have no idea; they probably ought to be making it harder to eat, instead. (And the cans are plenty hard enough when the little key breaks and you can’t unzip the can with the stub that’s left. Yes, I know a frightening amount about Spam.) I did try it, but it’s not terribly compelling and I won’t make a point of buying it again.

Finally, in the Fun With YouTube Department, I found some French & Saunders clips last night &mdash just search YouTube for “French and Saunders” and you’ll see scads of them. My favorite so far is their homage to Bergman films (which I’d seen before thanks to shadowbear_ and stitchjock), though the clip of poor Rufus Wainwright singing on their Christmas show was hysterical, too. Then Gary at work sent me this clip with every great British guitarist ever, including Mark Knopfler and David Gilmour joining in a lawsuit against the guy who left the little dot diagrams out of the guitar lesson books. Hm, maybe I should just cut out all the ephemera about food and weather, and make this post just about French & Saunders clips.

Edited to add (3:30 p.m. my time): Here’s the latest US watches/warnings map from http://www.weather.gov (just for archival purposes). Isn’t it purty?:
US Watches and warnings, Jan. 29, 2008, 2035 GMT

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Weather, Food-maybe, French & Saunders (a potpourri)

  1. ferndalealex says:

    And the cans are plenty hard enough when the little key breaks and you can’t unzip the can with the stub that’s left. Yes, I know a frightening amount about Spam.)

    Last time I bought Spam (a couple of years ago) they’d tossed away the key in favor of a pull tab top. Kind of like soup and Ravioli.

  2. stitchjock says:

    Forget the weather.

    Forget Spam.

    It’s *all* about French & Saunders.

    (Pass me a Hob Nob….)

  3. altivo says:

    As a matter of fact, Illinois currently has flood warnings, blizzard warnings, winter storm warnings, wind chill warnings, and a severe thunderstorm warning in progress. Where I sit right near the Wisconsin line, we have dense fog and a temperature in the 40s, but we are being told it will turn into thunderstorms and then sleet followed by heavy blowing snow within a few hours. Another tornado warning wouldn’t surprise me at all, given that we have strong winds and a warm and cold air mass colliding at high velocity.

    Your SPAM knowledge is out of date. It comes in aluminum cans now and has a pull ring on the top instead of that little key. ;p

    • songdogmi says:

      The fact that I haven’t kept up with the ways of SPAM is probably the best nutritional news from me in a long, long time. <sheepish grin>

      I added the map to the main post after you commented. It’s from approximately when you wrote.

      • altivo says:

        Yeah, I missed the tornado watch and the high wind advisory in my list of warnings there. The fog cleared abruptly at about 2:45, and we had a sudden cold shower at exactly 3 pm (when they’ve been saying the sleet and snow would start.) No snow, no sleet, and the rain stopped in about three minutes. The temperature is now 38F.

        I’m guessing that we will get the temperature drop eventually and perhaps some snow flurries, but this one is looking like another NWS dud to me. The area of Illinois to the west of Rockford, where the blizzard warning has been flying red all day, has received no more precipitation than we have.

      • songdogmi says:

        I can’t tell how accurate the forecast will turn out for here yet. I expected a lot more rain during the day than we’ve gotten so far, though it’s been consistently bleak and damp. THe local TV stations have committed to a time frame for the big freeze — sometime between 2 and 3 a.m. Means I can finish my evening agenda at the open mic in plenty of time before everything becomes an ice rink, if it does. But commuting might be a pain, I guess, so I have my work laptop with me in case working at home turns out to be the wiser choice.

    • songdogmi says:

      I know… I’m not in the mood for it very often, but sometimes it works.

      Ham salad from a deli might be better, though. Mmmmmm… must be getting hungry again.

      • altivo says:

        Home made ham salad would be better. I’m not so sure about from a deli. My mom used to give us deviled ham when we were in elementary school, and it was a big treat because it was relatively pricy back then. I used to like it, but haven’t had any in years.

        To be honest, I’d prefer tuna salad (home made) over any of them.

        SPAM is not as bad nutritionally as it used to be, and even has reduced fat/salt versions, though truth be told it was never as high in fat as many of the prepackaged sandwich meat products.

      • songdogmi says:

        My problem with homemade ham salad is, i don’t like relish enough ordinarily, so I don’t buy it and buying enough for one round of ham salad will leave a lot of extra relish. (These people who don’t cook must mystify you.) I could see if anyone in my family would want the rest of the relish, though.

        I’ve had lots of good ham salad from delis. I don’t buy it that often, because I like tuna salad at least as well or better, But I’ve always had good luck with it.

        Healthier SPAM? Who’da thunk it? 🙂

      • altivo says:

        I like relish for lots of things, and even make my own and can it in jars. One version uses up some of the green tomatoes that are always left at the end of the summer and I really like it. The recipe came from a colleague back when I worked for Time-Life.

        I keep sweet relish and dill relish on hand at all times. But all you need for ham salad is a couple of pickles, whichever variety you prefer. When putting the ham through the grinder, you just toss the pickles in at the end and grind them up as well. We always do our ham salad that way. I like some minced onion, reduced fat mayonnaise (not Miracle Slop) and just a dab of good mustard added. Of course home made bread or rolls is a requirement. ;D

        Yeah, people who don’t cook mystify me. But you knew that.

      • Anonymous says:

        Believe it or not, Charlie, I made my own — homemade — deviled ham two weeks ago. All real ingredients: ham, celery, onion, mustard, spices. Blended up. It was actually quite good. Anna called it “dummy ham.” She wants me to make it again.

        Ott Lake Rambler

      • songdogmi says:

        See, I know these things can be made, but… actually the cooking-for-one thing kicks in; it’s hard to be motivated when you have to make such tiny quantities that you need to do advanced algebra to figure out the amounts of the ingredients.

        Also, I don’t have a food processor. Although I’m sure it can be done “manually.”

        Still, it wouldn’t be so hard to make and use a reasonable quantity of deviled ham, and fresh means it could be very nummy (or “dummy”).

Leave a Reply

