Tunes for the economy

I like to listen to the radio show Marketplace, which is broadcast on two local public radio stations, a half-hour apart. (So if I get off work early, I listen to it on WDET at 6; if late, on WUOM at 6:30, and I can even listen to the last half on WDET and the first half on WUOM, if that works out. But that’s neither here nor there.) Now, I know a bit about economics and business, but I’ll never be in the running to become the next chairman of the Federal Reserve Board. The best thing about this is — yes it’s about business and the economy, but it’s written for mere mortals. So I don’t have to write quick e-mails to Dr. Dave at Northern begging him to take time between teaching his econ classes to explain what I just heard about the M1 money supply. You probably wouldn’t, either. (Not that you know Dr. Dave, or even played guitar with him, I guess.) It’s that well-written, and it’s interesting, which is to say, not all corporate annual reports.

Anyway, they have a segment where they report the daily closing numbers from Wall Street, and to make it more interesting, they play specific background music, always tunes that are decades old: “We’re In the Money” when the markets are up, “Stormy Weather” when they’re down, and “It Don’t Mean a Thing if it Ain’t Got That Swing” when results are mixed. It’s a little thing, but endearing.

Except I’m getting awfully tired of hearing “Stormy Weather” every day. I saw in someone’s LJ today that the Dow Jones has lost 2000 points since October — that’s almost 15%. The current Federal Reserve chairman spoke to Congress today, and the markets dropped while he spoke. And everyone in the media seems to be saying “so why don’t they say the ‘R’ word already?”

So, maybe Marketplace needs a new song. I’m just hoping it’s not “Brother, Can You Spare a Dime?”

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tunes for the economy

  1. tastyeagle says:

    Things are looking glum. Yes, I am getting quite familiar with that particular background song they use.

    I like that show.

    • songdogmi says:

      I guess we just hold on till the economy hits bottom and starts going up again. It’s bound to do that eventually. (So they say.)

      I’d just hate to be, say, 64 or 65 years old now, watching my retirement income start to crumble and knowing I don’t have the time to build it back up again unless I work till I’m 70. It’s going to be hard enough for me to see the next quarterly statement on my retirement account as it is.

Leave a Reply

