It’s beginning to look a lot like… well, winter, at least

The weather lived up to the hype, I think. My little area of the world got between six and seven inches of snow overnight, with more possible the rest of the day. As of 10 a.m., the local office of the National Weather Service was reporting between six and eight inches across almost all of southeastern Michigan. It’s windy too. In fact, about thirty miles from here is the southern end of a blizzard warning—now THAT’S winter. I like a snowy winter, except for one thing: the need to shovel driveways and sidewalks after a big snowfall. Shoveling will probably take me all day, which is just as well, because I am not going to go driving off to a mall today, not till I know the county has done enough plowing of the roads.

The snow started in earnest yesterday evening, while bonezman and I were at Finvarra’s Wren‘s annual Solstice concert, this time at the Birmingham Unitarian Church as part of MAMA’s Coffeehouse. It was a fine concert and we had a fine visit with the head wrens, Jim and Cheryl Perkins. A great time was had by all, well worth venturing out in the snow.

Now, if only I could get the wind to blow the snow drifts out of my driveway.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s beginning to look a lot like… well, winter, at least

  1. jjfmi says:

    Sorry to have missed the show at MAMA’s. Haven’t made it out there since 2004, actually – shame on me. It would have been fun to see the Perkins clan again in action.

    I’ve been out twice today for snow removal – once this morning, at 8 am, and again an hour or so ago to clean up the drifts. I’m dreading the next pass of the street plow, though, since the drifts at the edges of our road are way deep… and the plow droppings will be deeper. (And again, I went without purchasing a snowblower… @#$%#$%!!!!)

    • songdogmi says:

      Shoveling snow is great exercise, isn’t it? Who needs a snowblower? (I’m kidding, of course.)

      I intended to shovel snow in shifts, but since most of it fell overnight… well, I didn’t think it was a good idea to wake up at 3 to start shoveling.

      I’ve just dug the car out and now I’m taking a break. I figure it’ll take about two more outings to shovel the driveway out. I’m pacing myself; there are probably few deaths more ignominous than pitching face-first into a snowdrift clutching one’s chest. (Well, short of Darwin Award-winners.)

      Fortunately, the guy down the street who likes to use his big yard tractor to clear the sidewalks from his house to the corner is still around. I need to find out what he likes as payment, cuz I owe him bigtime.

Leave a Reply

